# **NEWS RELEASE**

## Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering

#### **CONTACT:**

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: February 21, 2022

Terri Clark, Executive Director (860) 282-4229, 860-754-8191 (cell)

tclark@ctcase.org

## Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering Elects 35 New Members in 2022

East Hartford, CT — The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (CASE) announces the election of 35 of Connecticut's leading experts in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and medicine to membership in the Academy. The new members will be introduced at the Academy's 47th Annual Meeting to be held virtually on May 26, 2022.

### The 35 newly elected members are:

- Hisham Alnajjar, Dean, College of Engineering, Technology, and Architecture; Director, Engineering Application Center; University of Hartford
- Mostafa Analoui, Executive Director, Technology Commercialization Services, UConn
- Ibrahim Baggili, Elder Family Endowed Chair and Director Connecticut Institute of Technology, Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering and Computer Science, University of New Haven
- Anton M. Bennett, Dorys McConnell Duberg Professor of Pharmacology and Professor of Comparative Medicine, Yale School of Medicine
- Tania Bhatia-Kashyap, Director, Advanced Materials and Manufacturing, Applied Research and Technology, Collins Aerospace
- Daniel Bolnick, Professor, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, UConn
- Kristen Brennand, Professor of Psychiatry, Yale School of Medicine
- Susan Busch, Professor of Public Health (Health Policy and Management) and Professor in the Institution for Social and Policy Studies, Yale School of Public Health
- Lieping Chen, United Technologies Corporation Professor in Cancer Research, Professor of Immunobiology, Medicine (Medical Oncology) and Dermatology, Yale School of Medicine
- Ted Cohen, Professor of Epidemiology (Microbial Diseases); Co-director, Public Health Modeling Concentration, Yale School of Public Health
- Cindy A. Crusto, Professor of Psychiatry; Deputy Chair for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Yale School of Medicine
- Vishwa D. Dixit, Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor of Comparative Medicine and Immunology, Yale School of Medicine
- Julie Dorsey, Frederick W. Beinecke Professor of Computer Science, Yale School of Engineering and Applied Science
- Michael Fischer, Professor of Computer Science, Yale School of Engineering and Applied Science
- Joel E. Gelernter, Foundations Fund Professor of Psychiatry and Professor of Genetics and of Neuroscience; Director, Division of Human Genetics (Psychiatry), Yale School of Medicine
- Valentina Greco, Carolyn Walch Slayman Professor of Genetics, Yale School of Medicine
- Ofer Harel, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Affairs; Professor of Statistics, UConn

- Rainer Hebert, Professor; Director of Pratt & Whitney Additive Manufacturing Center, Associate Director of the Institute of Materials Science, UConn School of Engineering
- Amy Justice, CNH Long Professor of Medicine and Public Health, Internal Medicine, Yale School of Medicine
- Barbara I. Kazmierczak, Gustavus and Louise Pfeiffer Research Foundation M.D.-Ph.D. Program
  Director and Professor of Medicine (Infectious Diseases) and of Microbial Pathogenesis, Yale School of
  Medicine
- Stephen King, Professor, Department of Molecular Biology and Biophysics, UConn Health
- Sangamesh G. Kumbar, Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery, Biomedical Engineering, UConn Health
- Michael Loewenberg, Professor of Chemical & Environmental Engineering, Yale School of Engineering and Applied Technology
- Pedro J.P. Mendes, Professor of Cell Biology and Director, Richard D. Berlin Center for Cell Analysis and Modeling, UConn School of Medicine
- Mu-Ping Nieh, Professor, Dept. of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, UConn School of Engineering and Institute of Materials Science, UConn
- Marcella Nunez-Smith, Associate Professor of Internal Medicine, Public Health, and Management;
   Inaugural Associate Dean for Health Equity Research; Founding Director of the Equity Research and
   Innovation Center (ERIC), Yale School of Medicine
- Saad B. Omer, Director, Yale Institute for Global Health; Associate Dean (Global Health Research),
   Professor of Medicine (Infectious Diseases), Yale School of Medicine; Susan Dwight Bliss Professor of
   Epidemiology of Microbial Diseases, Yale School of Public Health
- Vineet Sahasrabudhe, Director, Engineering Sciences and Systems Engineering, Sikorsky, a Lockheed Martin Company
- Brian R. Smith, Professor of Laboratory Medicine, of Biomedical Engineering, of Medicine (Hematology) and of Pediatrics; Deputy Dean for Clinical and Translational Research, Yale School of Medicine
- Francis Starr, Foss Professor of Physics, Wesleyan University
- Yajaira Suárez, Deputy Chair and Anthony N. Brady Associate Professor of Comparative Medicine (with Tenure), Yale School of Medicine
- Carolyn Teschke, Professor and Interim Department Head, Molecular and Cell Biology, and Chemistry, UConn
- Mark C. Urban, Arden Professor in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology; Director, Center of Biological Risk; Director, Team-TERRA; Co-leader, UConn@COP, UConn
- Epapandi Vlahos, Professor, Marine Sciences, UConn
- David L. Wagner, Professor, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, UConn

Election to CASE is on the basis of scientific and engineering distinction achieved through significant contributions in theory or applications, as demonstrated by original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence. CASE was chartered by the Connecticut General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well-being. For more information about the Academy, please visit www.ctcase.org.